Skip to content

Lasker Clinical Research Scholars Program

The National Institutes of Health, in partnership with the Lasker Foundation, is pleased to announce the Lasker Clinical Research Scholars Program , an historic "intramural-extramural" partnership to nurture the next generation of clinical researchers.

The program supports a small number of exceptional clinical researchers in the early stages of their careers to promote their development to fully independent positions. Successful candidates are designated as Lasker Clinical Research Scholars, who can take advantage of a unique combination of NIH funding for clinical research for upwards of 11 years. The program combines a period of independent research as a Principal Investigator in the NIH Intramural Research Program for 5 to 7 years, with the opportunity for additional years of independent financial support either at the NIH or at an extramural research institution.

Candidates must have an MD, MD/PhD, DO, DDS, DMD, RN/PhD, or equivalent clinical doctoral degree from an accredited domestic or foreign institution and must have a professional license to practice in the United States. The program is intended for early-stage investigators. At the time of application, applicants must be no more than 6 years from completion of their core residency training. Applicants will generally have completed or be completing a post-residency clinical fellowship, and will have demonstrated significant patient-oriented research experience to qualify for a tenure-track level appointment. Scholars do not have to be U.S. citizens or permanent residents.

NIMH encourages qualifying clinical researchers with interest in research that supports the Institute’s Strategic Plan to apply for Lasker scholarships. Potential applicants seeking to work with NIMH’s Intramural Research Program are encouraged to contact NIMH’s Scientific Director, Dr. Susan Amara (, or NIMH’s Clinical Director, Dr. Maryland Pao (, to discuss their proposed research.